Nature Photographers Network
This is the preserved archive of the original Nature Photographers Network. The community continues at naturephotographers.network.

Lightroom for iPad Has Finally Arrived

Discussion

4 replies
Posted by Paul DeCesare on April 10, 2014 at 4:31 AM
I haven't tried it yet, will give it a go tomorrow. Terry White tells all about it on his blog. Ha, I'm writing this post on an iPad, I could be processing images instead! :biggrin:
Posted by Kurt Bowman on April 11, 2014 at 9:24 AM
This app is the absolute worst thing I have seen to date. It all sounds great until you view the details. First, if you OWN a copy of LR5, this is not an app you can take advantage of. Adobe will make you subscribe. I have other issues with the whole subscription thing which I won't even go into...but to make me pay for something twice in order to use a new product is absurd. I could somewhat understand this being a forced option if they were coming out with new SW (Lightroom 6), but that is not the case. Adobe wants me to pay additional for something I already purchased from them. The second and largest issue with this LR Mobile is you can ONLY sync via the cloud. When beginning the sync, a pop-up window comes up and informs you your photos will be available for everyone else with LR mobile. UNREAL! Sorry for my rant, but as I mentioned...worst app ever in my opinion. It sort of feels like Adobe wants to ruin the photography business. Oh and one last thing....every review I have read said the Sync process is extremely slow. I assume it will depend somewhat on your available download speed, but it also depends on Adobe's upload abilities. Several users reported downloads of 3-4 hours for just a few images (10 or less).
Posted by Paul DeCesare on April 11, 2014 at 6:20 PM
LOL! I guess we're not surprised at this one! I was wondering what the point was when you can get Photoshop's mobile editing app for the iPad. Any of this editing on iPad is just "in a pinch" anyway, almost more of a novelty... one of those things that sounds neat but isn't totally useful.
Posted by Keith Bauer on April 13, 2014 at 10:37 AM
A couple of clarifying points. LR mobile relies on LR on the desktop, but is not the same product, so it is not something you already own. The sync uses adobes cloud which is part of the rationale for requiring a subscription. I have no idea what Kurt is referencing with your photos being available to everyone else with LR mobile. You have to log onto your Adobe account to sync so your photos have the same protections as any other cloud based service. I never saw any such popup. Sync speeds are just fine. If people are reporting 3 or 4 hours, it is likely their issue, not Adobe. I'm not trying to defend Adobe, but would like to see factual information, not rumors form the basis for the discussion. I have it installed and working. Probably not something I will use much in my workflow, but for some small percentage could be handy.
Posted by Kurt Bowman on April 16, 2014 at 11:50 AM
I would also like to clarify something, because it seems my comments were taken out of context. I never claimed to have already owned LR Mobile. I already own LR5. Adobe advertises this as a free product which is used in conjunction with a current product (LR5) and is available to people with LR5. I do already own LR5 and cannot take advantage of this new "complimentary" software unless I buy LR5 again as a monthly subscription. As a consumer, it makes me feel like they are holding this hostage and asking me to pay for it with something I already paid for.
As far as the sync speeds are concerned.....I am glad they worked well for you; however, there are many posts on Adobe's own forum complaining about syncing speeds. Many from people with over 40 MB download speeds. Most of them were from the first 2 days, so could it possibly be thousands of users trying to access Adobe servers at the same time? Not sure, but there was an issue and I am happy if it has been addressed.
As far as the popup message. I only received it when I signed onto the the cloud in LR for the first time and have not received it again. I am wondering if it is a message which only shows when a first time user signs on? It is possible I misunderstood the message, but I know it said my photos were going to be visible to others with the mobile service. I am wondering if it meant others in my organization or with my account? Unsure...just wish I could find it again to re-read it.
I might be misunderstanding something, but I am not sure which part of this is rumor and not fact?